It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends. ~Albus Dumbledore

We all have friends from all walks of life. Some might stay but others are only temporary. It would be foolish of me to say that those we know only briefly does not impact us. In fact, one we know for a short period of time might change us in the most extraordinary of ways. You would have heard people saying we have to choose our friends wisely. On the contrary, I think that we cannot choose who our friends are. It happens naturally. Instead, I believe that we should interact with our friends wisely.

I would like to think that I am a just person. I do not close an eye when something wrong happens and always try to deal with the problem fairly. I wasn’t afraid of bullies or those who bigger than me. Am not afraid of saying no to things that are I believe are wrong. On the other hand, I do not have the courage of speaking up towards a few of my friends because I fear of being rejected. Nobody wants to be hated by their friends. nor do we want to offend them by not following what they want us to do. I want to be nice.

As time passed, I realised that slowly they were trying to take advantage of me. I dislike it and felt like I was a fool. But I did not have the courage to say no. As a result, I started making up excuses when they wanted me to do something I did not want to do. I lied.

Now, I ain’t afraid of standing up to our friends because it doesn’t really matter whether they were my friends or weren’t. Friends such as those aren’t worth your time. Besides, if they doesn’t want to be your friend, you could always go out and meet new people. I don’t blame them for using me because it was partly my fault. I was a coward. They wouldn’t be able to take advantage of me if I had learned to say no earlier. But I am grateful for them. For they, taught me bravery.

Leave a Reply

