Who is Like Our God?

Micah 7:7-10 

But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me. Do not float over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the LORD will be my light. Because I have sinned against him, I will bear the LORD’s wrath, until he pleads my case and establishes my right. He will bring me out into the light; I will see his righteousness. Then my enemy will see it and will be covered with shame, she who said to me,” Where is the LORD your God?” My eyes will see her downfall; even now she will be trampled underfoot like more in the streets. 

Micah 7:18-20

Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl our iniquities into the depths of the sea. You will be true to Jacob and show mercy to Abraham, as you pledged on oath to our fathers in days long ago. 

These few verses truly struck a chord in me. I have been feeling terrible and had done lots of things I later regret. Doing the same mistake and sinning against him multiple times is what drew me somewhat distant from Him. Shame and guilt stopped me from coming before Him. 

Today, I went to a Watoto concert. It is a Christian choir group which consist of orphaned children in Uganda. The theme of their tour this time is “Oh what love”. As I was sitting there, I realised how God really wants me back into His presence. He sent someone thousands of miles away to tell me how much he loves me. And now, when I was doing my devotion, I was once again reminded of His great love for us. 

When God judges, the evildoers and the rebels shall not be spared. We may get punished for disobeying Him. However, God’s punishment shall be temporary. If God’s people repent and seek His forgiveness, He will lift them up again and restore them. God will be merciful. If there is true repentance, God forgives. It doesn’t matter how matter times you do something wrong, He just want you to come humbly into His presence and to repent because we could never avoid sinning and he knows that we are human. It is human nature to sin. But we should always let the Holy Spirit to guide us so that we could live a pleasing and acceptable life for Him. 

Who is like our God? There is none like him. 

Leave a Reply

