A funeral 

“Time to go to bed,”I thought to myself when I saw the time. It was one in the morning and after doing my daily devotion, I went to bed. It didn’t take a long time before I fell into a deep slumber which brought me to dreamland.

I was in the car, on the way to my friend’s house with my family. Both of our parents are friends too. When I opened the door, what I saw sent a chill down my spine. It was clear dark night. The air was crisp and chill but it isn’t the atmosphere that makes me anxious, it was what I saw. Aunty Pauline was wailing and weeping desperately while holding her front gate in a strong grip. Her face was covered in tears and was red from the long hours of lamenting the loss of her mother.

When I looked into the coffin laid on the floor at the parking area, what I saw wasn’t the usual pale lifeless body. Her eyes were wide open as if she is possessed. Her arms were waving up in the air and she cried out words that I cannot apprehend. On top of her face, there was a huge candle wax. Behind her, three dolls, similar to the one in the movie,”Anabelle” were moving around. After a few moments, the ceremony started. It was very horrifying. I have never been to a funeral like that one. The candle was lit, and her mother started to melt, starting from the face. The same thing happened to the three dolls behind. When I picked up my courage to look into the coffin, only her hands were left, still waving and her countenance was one of anguish and pain from what was left of her melted face.

A few houses away, was my cousin’s. I think I went back in time, for she has moved into a new area but everyone was there, living life as usual. The atmosphere was eerie but I was the only one who could sense it. We were watching TV when my cousin who is same age as me, walked towards me and order me to give her my phone. Something was amiss. Her eyes impenetrable and I declined. Out of blue, she pounced on me and attacked me. We were caught in a struggle. She was possessed. I woke up and couldn’t sleep a wink anymore. It has been a long time since I had a nightmare. I checked the time on my phone-2.45am, on the lights and picked up my Sherlock Holmes series and started reading, pushing away every thought about it to the back of my mind. Before I knew it, I fell asleep with lights on.

Leave a Reply

