Safe Haven

After being here for about 3 weeks, I finally found a place I could put down all my guard. A place where I always feel comfortable every time I am here. This place invigorate my ever tiring soul after a long period of study and being put under stress. It is somewhat like my second home.

My safe haven here in college is my campus’ library. On the first day I arrive here and was brought to tour around the area, what got me in awe was their library. Being the one of the top libraries in Asia, it definitely did not disappoint me. Ever since the first day of class, I had always wanted to enter it but I had to suppress my desire to do so as I still have not receive my student card.

The smell of books never fails to calm me after a hectic day. The orderly and neatly arranged books on the shelves gives me a sense of satisfaction that everything is where it should be. Nothing seems out of place. The fact that I become anonymous makes me feel comfortable. I could hide behind a good book or the computer without having to entertain people. I don’t feel out of place here. It is as if I belong. I belong to this world where you could travel anywhere in the world. Be in the shoes of anyone for a short period of time.

My college also allows students to borrow CDs and you can view it in an area. I have not done that yet but am going to somewhere in the future. I just haven’t got the time to do so yet.

This place will always be the place I go to when I am down or stressed out. When I want to avoid being in reality. The times where I wanna push all my troubles at the back of my head, I will always make a trip to the library. It is one of my favorite place here. The other being the green grassy field that I never got a chance to be at.

Leave a Reply

