Flying Disc

After coming back from classes, I was in a petty dilemma. Should I go for the frisbee pick-up sessions or just relax in my room after a long day of studying. I lied down on the bed and was enjoying myself with some Youtube videos while time flies away quickly. It had to made a decision as the session is going to start. I heard the pit pat of water as it falls to the ground and I thought it had rain and I do not have to choose to go or not to anymore. I looked outside the window and to my disappointment, it was only a worker watering the plants downstairs. A small part of me was happy it wasn’t raining as it had been such a long time since I went down to the field. I miss being under the sun and feeling the wind as it caress my face. I long to be down in the grassy green field where students gathered every evening.

I packed my bags with an umbrella in case it suddenly rains as it has been raining every evening this few days. After a few thoughts, I put my books and notes into it as well if I changed mind, I could always spend my time in the library. I put on my grey shoes and walked out of the door still debating whether to go or not to go. I don’t know anyone there and I’m not even good in the sport. When I passed the library, I at last decided just to go. When I reach the field, some of them were already playing and I sat there waiting for the friendly and kind committee member to ask me whether I was new. I waited and waited. Life doesn’t work that way. I’m not living in a life of a manga where people coming finding for you, where there will always be one senior who is super friendly and caring. Nope. Instead, I went up to a few girls playing at the other end of the field and ask them about it. I was glad I did it. If I didn’t, I would have been waiting there stupidly all evening and wouldn’t even get a chance to play.

One of the girls thought me how to throw a frisbee and after warming up, the game finally started. There were too many players and I offered to sit out for the first game and observed at the sidelines how the game is played. She told me it is somewhat like captain ball. After 10 to 20 minutes, it was finally action time for me. I was in the game. It did not went smoothly as I had predicted. I was the black hole of the team. Every time someone pass me the disc, it would definitely end up in the opponent’s hands. Embarrassed as I was, I continued playing all because I enjoyed running around the field. The only thing I am good at is marking people. Another girl from the opposing team complained to her friend that no one wanted to pass to her as I was always guarding her. I guess they kinda hate me for it. And, when I cut some slack and let her go, all I got was looks from my team captain. He told me I had to mark someone and always be with that person.

Besides that, every single time I caught the disc, I would get super nervous and all the things that I learned on how to throw a frisbee went out of my mind. My innate reaction was to throw it like a handball. Here comes another annoyed advice from my team member. All the time while I was playing, I was thinking to myself,”Please don’t pass it to me. Please don’t pass it to me.” Like a mantra that was played in my mind the moment we were in offense. I played for quite a long time before having a break to quench my thirst. After that, I never entered the field and only practice my throws at the side. At 8.30pm, I got up and made my way home feeling glad I would be back in my comfort zone. You know how they said there are so many good reasons to step up of your comfort zone, I have not experience any.

Leave a Reply

